In the autumn of 2007, a decision was made to reconstruct the UmgestÃ¼lpter Zuckerhut ( Upended Sugarloaf ), an iconic half-timbered house famous for its unusual shape. Several villages around the city remained Catholic as well. 5 mi) are public (most of the public beach is part of the Parco Naturale Regionale Migliarino-San Rossore-Massaciuccoli. The faÃ§ade is sumptuously decorated with colourful paintings and German proverbs. The first mention of Viareggio dates back to 1169 when a wooden tower guarding the coast was built completely dating sights only. Fortunately, most of the major churches, two of them now UNESCO World Heritage Sites, were rebuilt in the original style soon after the war.
 Originally the market was held in a street called Old Market ( Alter Markt) which still exists today. In 1820 Viareggio obtained the status of city. During winter months (Dec-Feb), high temperatures can vary between 14â15 Â°C (57â59 Â°F) and 4â5 Â°C (39â41 Â°F), while night time temperatures can reach below 0 Â°C (32 Â°F). 20th century The beginning of the 20th century saw again a marked development of the coast and tourism industry which determined a drastic change to most of the beach. Other notable buildings stand opposite the church: St. In these years Viareggio was the destination of many exiled intellectuals of the Italian Risorgimento who were tolerated by the local sovereigns.
The oldest building in Viareggio, known as Torre Matilde, dates back to this time and was built by the Lucchesi in 1541 as a defensive fortification to fight the constant menace of corsair incursions. This helps explain the monumental archways and bridges of the Aqueducts we see traverse throughout the city. It is located on the present Via Statilia and can be seen in bits and pieces starting from the Porta Maggiore on through to the Palatine hill... In 1730, the house was remodelled, and a Baroque portal and a large bay window were added. ..